Tuesday, January 13, 2015

India people's war advances -CRPF to be withdrawn from three Naxal-affected Odisha districts

from india press

After observing improvement in situation in some Naxal-affected areas, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) has decided to withdraw its units from three districts of Odisha and re-deploy them in other critical areas within the State. The districts from where CRPF would move out include Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj and parts of Ganjam. Addressing a press conference here on Tuesday, Prakash Mishra, who undertook his first field visit after assuming Director General of CRPF, said, “We have also taken decision that wherever in our operational areas there is marked improvement in situation, we will gradually withdraw our forces. Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj and parts of Ganjam have seen very low incidences of Naxal activities.”
These forces will be relocated in Kandhamala and Kalahandi, where there is a need of presence, Mr. Mishra said. “During past two years, in areas like Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj and parts of Ganjam, we have noticed that there are little activities of Left wing extremists. After the relocations of CRPF units, it does not mean that these areas are left with no force. The State police with its India Reserve Battalion and armed police wing will be there to respond security challenges. Capacity-building of these State-based forces will have to take place as CRFP units cannot be deployed for all times to come,” he said. “Before mobilisation of force to other areas, we have to keep basic infrastructure ready for forces.
The State government agreed to provide the required infrastructure to us. Our officers will make an assessment of these structures. After infrastructures are certified to be ready, our forces will make a move,” Mr. Mishra said. “If deployment of more CRPF units will be felt in future, Odisha government needs to take up the matter with Union Home Ministry. Then only, decision on further deployment will be taken,” Mr. Mishra added. The CRPF will increase its presence in Kalahandi, Nuapada and Kandhamal areas where movement of Naxalites are reported regularly.
Parts of Odisha especially some southern districts are controlled by Andhra Odisha Special Zonal Committee. Now, CPI (Maoist) is grouped under Odisha State Committee (OSC). Eight regular battalions and one CoBRA (Commando Battalion for Resolute Action) battalion are deployed in 13 districts of Odisha. In Malkanagiri and Koraput districts, which are badly affected by left wing extremists, units of Border Security Force are deployed.

No comments:

Post a Comment