Wednesday, January 30, 2013

CPN-Maoist forms five commands

KATHMANDU, Jan 30: Centralizing power of the party organization, CPN-Maoist has formed five commands dissolving its six geographical and two non-geographical bureaus keeping in mind the party´s upcoming struggle programs. The meeting of the party central committee on Tuesday held at the party head office in Buddha Nagar also reshuffled responsibilities appointing party top leaders, including -vice-chairman CP Gajurel and general secretary Ram Bahadur Thapa, as command in-charges. The party will make its struggle programs public on Wednesday by holding a press meet. “The commands have been formed by downsizing the bureaus in a bid to streamline party activities,” said Jayapuri Gharti Magar, central committee member.
The Maoists had formed such commands also during the insurgency. General Secretary Thapa has been appointed in-charge of the central command. Thapa held the same post during the insurgency. Similarly, vice-chairman Gajurel has been appointed in-charge of the international command. Gajuel also held the same post during the insurgency. The central command is supposed to be very important as it also comprises the capital. Newa, Tamsaling, Bhojpura and Mithila state committees would also be under the central command. Earlier, Bhojpura and Mithila state committees were under the Madhes bureau. Similarly, Khadga Bahadur Bishwakarma has been appointed in-charge of eastern command comprising Kirat, Limbuwan and Kochila state committees. Similarly, mid-western command would be headed by party leader Indra Mohan Sigdel.
The mid-western command would comprise Tamuwan, Magarat and Abadh state committees. The Abadh state committee was under the Madhes bureau in the past. There was no mid-western command during the insurgency. Likewise, Dharmendra Banstola has been appointed in-charge of the western command comprising Bheri-Karnali, Tharuwan and Seti-Mahakali state committees. Similarly, Kul Prasad KC has been appointed in-charge of Tamsaling state committee. Hit Man Shakya has been reappointed as in-charge of Newa state committee.
The remaining state committee in-charges retain their positions. The CPN-Maoist has a total of 14 geographical and non-geographical state committees. The meeting also removed the post of co-in-charge from the party´s organizational structure. There were more than one co-in-charges in the state, district and area committees. “The struggle programs to be made public by the party will be publicity-oriented,” said Anil Sharma Birahi, central committee member.

No comments:

Post a Comment